Hardy Cup Match Racing Regatta

Hardy Cup 9 – 13 May 2022
U/23 WS Grade 3 Event

After the success of the open Hardy Cup 2021, Sir James Hardy and the regatta’s Organising Committee have decided to split the Hardy Cup and the Hardy Shield into two separate events. The Hardy Cup will return to its original U/23 format for the 2022 event with a focus on helping restart the international youth match racing circuit. The Hardy Shield will become a new open match racing event for RSYS Members and other open teams (More Information coming soon) with a focus on increasing open match racing opportunities.

The Hardy Cup Sydney International Regatta will continue to offer sailors up to four days of racing with a double round-robin and knock-out series. The event will be held directly in front of the Clubhouse and competitors will race on a fleet of Elliott 7s sports-boats.

If you are interested in competing at the Hardy Cup Sydney International Match Racing Regatta 2022, please use the form below to register your expression of interest.

History of the Hardy Cup

Initiated by Sir James Hardy (Event Patron), an America’s Cup winner, World Champion, Olympic yachtsman, and prominent RSYS Member, the Hardy Cup is one of Australia’s most prestigious match racing events and is aimed at further developing the match racing and tactical skills of youth sailors.

Since its inception in 2001, the Hardy Cup regatta has been hotly contested by under 25’s teams and has maintained a World Sailing Grade 3 international event status. Previous winners of the event include David Gilmour, Adam Minoprio and Michael Dunstan.

Racing for the event is held over four days on magnificent Sydney Harbour against the backdrop of the world-famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Further to this fantastic location, RSYS always provides a world-class Race Management and Umpire team to provide the best possible racing conditions.

The event is sailed in the Club’s fleet of Elliott 7s sports-boats and has previously received entries from across Australia and around the world, including Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Sweden and USA.

Regatta Documents

Expression of Interest – Click Here

Notice of Race – Click Here

Sailing Instructions – Click Here

Sailing Instructions Amendment 1 – Click Here

List of Skippers 2022 – Click Here

Competitor Details 2022 – Click Here

Hardy Cup 2022 Live Results – Click Here

Hardy Cup Facebook Page – Click Here

Previous Winners

2021 – Finn Tapper, CYCA (AUS)

2020 – Harry Price, CYCA (AUS)

2019 – Nick Egnot-Johnson, RNZYS (NZL)

2018 – Clare Costanzo, RPAYC (AUS)

2017 – Ashlen Rooklyn, DBSC (AUS)

2016 – William Dargaville, RPAYC (AUS)

2015 – Jay Griffin, CYCA (AUS)

2014 – Jordan Reece, RSYS (AUS)

2013 – David Chapman, RSYS (AUS)

2012 – David Gilmour, RFBYC (AUS)

2011 – William Tiller, RNZYS (NZL)

2010 – Evan Walker, CYCA (AUS)

2009 – Adrian Short, RNZYS (NZL)

2008 – Evan Walker, CYCA (AUS)

2007 – Adam Minoprio, RNZYS (NZL)

2006 – Michael Dunstan, RSYS (AUS)

2005 – Michael Dunstan, RSYS (AUS)

2004 – Laurie Jury, RNZYS (NZL)

2002 – Michael Dunstan, RSYS (AUS)

2001 – M. Campbell-James, RYA (GBR)

RSYS Hardy Cup Coordinator

Angus Stranack

E: angus@rsys.com.au

Ph: +61 2 9017 0154