Winter Series Prize Giving

RSYS Vice Commodore David Ward welcomed guests from RANSA and SASC on Saturday 30 July and opened the proceedings for the RSYS 12 race series.

“As you all know, winter conditions can be challenging and this season has been no different. With 2 abandoned races, several very light days including today, and only the occasional decent breeze, it is no wonder that you, the winter sailors have a reputation for being the hardy ones. You have not only braved the variable conditions, but the cold as well,” said Ward.

A number of boats competed in every race and were acknowledged the stalwarts of the series:

Eloise – Adrian Broadbent
Matagi – Simon Oliver
Alouette – John Waring
Mako – Cameron Wiklund
Molly – Frank Hetherton
Solange – Trevor Carroll and Will Hutchinson
Silky – Tony Hirst
Capriccio – Tony Craven
Black Diamond Bay – Kerry Lehman
Tingari – John Jeremy
Crackerjack – Denis Galvin & Chris Harper

2016 RSYS Winter 12 Race Series Results

Division 1
1st place, Matagi, Simon Oliver (Balmain Sailing Club)
2nd place, Euphoria, Tony Coleman (RSYS) 
3rd place, Optimum, Stuart Jordan (RSYS)

Division 2
1st place, Alouette, John Waring (RSYS)
2nd place, Mako, Cameron Wiklund (RANSA)
3rd place, Molly, Frank Hetherton (SASC)
Division 3
1st place, Gotcha, Tony Morris (RSYS) (pictured)
2nd place, Slips, Stephen Churm (Sailability Rushcutters Bay YC)
3rd place, Capriccio, Tony Craven (RANSA) 

Non-spinnaker division
1st place, Libertine, Benjamin Morgan & Laura Wallace (RANSA)
2nd place, Allegro, John Taylor  (RSYS)
3rd place, Grendel, Tom Cehak  (RSYS 

Classic division
1st place, Eloise, Adrian Broadbent (SASC)
2nd place, Hoana, Martin Vanderwal (SASC)
3rd place, Fagel Grip, Jerry Lees (SASC)

The RSYS Spring Series will commence on Saturday 3 September.