Squadron Yachting Awards for 151st season

4 June 2013

Peter Campbell

London 2012 Olympic gold medallist Nathan Outteridge has been awarded the Idris Cup as the Squadron’s Yachtsman of the Year for the 151st annual sailing season.

The award to the champion 49-class sailor was announced at the annual prize giving held at the club last Friday, 31 May, and is awarded to “a Squadron member for excellence in local, national and international competition who has demonstrated the art of good seamanship and sportsmanlike conduct.”

The Joanne Trophy has been awarded to Yngling class helmswoman Karyn Gojnich, the citation being “a Squadron member who regularly sails from the Squadron, is enthusiastic, deeply involved and an active participant in any aspect of sailing.”

The third special award announced on Friday evening was the Flag Officers Crewperson of the Year, being presented to Stuart Pollard. This trophy recognised “a Squadron member who has demonstrated a high level of competition in their sailing and contributed to the success of their skipper in club and regatta events.”

During the evening, the Squadron’s race management team (52 members in total) was recognised for their significant contribution during the past season, while special volunteer awards were made the John Maclurcan (handicapping and administration support), John Kirkjian (rules, special regulations and technical support) and Peter Campbell (yachting journalist).

The Squadrons glittering array of perpetual trophies came out of their cabinets for the prize giving, allowing the season’s winners a brief opportunity to view the trophies and see the names of their yachts become part of the Squadron’s 151 seasons of yacht racing on Sydney Harbour.

Perpetual trophy and Main Series winners for the 2012-2013 season were:

Division 1: Euphoria (Tony Coleman) – Norn Cup; Willyama (Richard Barron & Stephen Sanlorenzo) – Milson Silver Jug; Honeysuckle (Ray Harris) – Duke of Gloucester Cup; Wine-Dark Sea (Peter Lowndes & Sarah Goddard-Jones) – Geoff Lee Trophy; Sydney (Charles Curran) – Boomerang Cup, Half Ton Trophy, Varuna Trophy, 1st Main Series.

Division 2: Ellipse II (Brian Bergin) – Carleton Cup; L’ea Co (Grant Pollock – Intercolonial Cup; Ambitious (David Matthews) – JAV Minnett Memorial Cup, 1st Main Series.

Division 3: Come by Chance (John Nutt) – LJ (Livvy) Mann Trophy; Mystere (Malcolm Shaw & Andrew Rodger) – Tarring Cup; Tingari (John Jeremy) – Xarifa Teapot, The Flag Officer Race Trophy, 1st Main Series.

Division 4: Solay (David Smith) – Commodore Knox Jubilee Trophy, KH Scholtyssek Tankard; Beowulf (Stafford Watts) – Herbert E Rosenthall Memorial Trophy; Daydream (Cheryn Croker) – Morna 1947 Cup, Rawson Cup, 1st Main Series.

International Etchells: North Star (Michael Coxon) – Milson Silver Goblets; Iron Lotus (Ivan Wheen, David Edwards & Tom King) – Eaton Cup; dot (David Seaton) – Phil Pearce Memorial Trophy; Umami (Matt Whitnall & Ant Elliott) – John ‘Choco’ Winning Memorial Plate; Alchemist (Richard Hammond & Roger Gain) – Ted Albert Memorial Trophy, Xarifa Chalice, 1st Main Series; Ciao (Doug McGain) – Etchells Mini Regatta Trophy, Jim Annand Trophy; RSYS for CYCA v RSYS – Kopsen Trophy.

International Dragon: Abracadabra (Nicholas Hogg & John Marty) – Alan Jarman Trophy; Riga (Martin Burke) – Era Cup; Sidewinder (Carl Ryves) – Archie Robertson Trophy, Dragon Gold Cup, Jock Car Memorial Cup, Elaine Rowntree Trophy, William Eric Hamilton Strain Trophy, 1st Main Series; Richard Sargeant & Kevin Burman – Colin Venables Crew Trophy.

International Yngling: Mistral (Edward Moult) – Yngling Gold Cup; Evie (Karyn Gojnich) Jan H Linge Trophy; Miss Pibb (Hamish Jarrett & Max Hayman) – King Haakons Cup, Rupert McCurrich Fire Truck Trophy, Malcolm Barlow Trophy, The 200 Trophy, Royal Temple Yacht Club Trophy, 1st Main Series.

Short Ocean Pointscore: Bennie and the Jets (John Griffin) – Milson Memorial Cup; AFR Midnight Rambler (Ed Psaltis) – Morna Cup; Occasional Coarse Language (Warwick Sherman) – Gascoigne Cup; Wine-Dark Sea (Peter Lowndes & Sarah Goddard-Jones) – 1st, Perseverance Trophy.

Tuesday Twilight Series: Rapunzel (Sandy Lawson) – Gypsy Moth Trophy; Karma (Lauren Cini) – Jan Rowed Memorial Trophy), 1st Main Series.

Sunday Series: Solveig (David McLean) – 1st Sunday Series.

M: 0419 385 028

E: peter_campbell@bigpond.com