Primed for the first race of the season

Iain Murray, RSYS Yachtsman of the year writes: ‘It was great to kick of the season with a strong fleet of Etchells on the start line, and after some enthusiastic training during winter, everyone was primed to go. It turned out to be a very challenging day for the competitors and race committee, the first race started with the wind direction from 230 degrees at 12 knots whereas the last leg of of the third race finished with a wind direction of 070 degrees and less than 5 knots of wind. Racing was close –  the first cross after the start was more important than ever – resulting in a very tight scorecard and the very consistent First Tracks a deserving winner after three races.’

Martin Hill was unable to sail his Etchells Lisa Rose on the day and handed the tiller to Matt Wearn, Australia’s Olympic Laser hopeful. He was ably assisted by Youth Member Finn Alexander. They did a sterling job and commented afterwards how much they appreciated the high quality of competition that RSYS offers.

In the Sportsboat division, Madness skipper Paul Breslin came first. Gary Pearce of Black Adder won the Yngling racing

In the mixed division Main series, despite an eleventh hour wind change from west to east and a start line change from Shark Island to Kirribilli, Race Officer Rob Lowndes managed to get the racing away at 1315 hours.  In division 1, Vamp skipper Donald Graham was the first to cross the finish line. Impetuous Too skipper Graeme Lambert was first in the new RSYS ORC Club Series. Roman Tarnawsky on Can Can took out Division 2, and Stafford Watts of Beowulf  won Division 3.

See the full results here

Photo by Kylie Wilson.