Our Members

Squadron Members, past & present

Our Commodores and Life Members boards read like a ‘Who’s Who’ of early Sydney society, when the Squadron attracted le beau monde of the young Colony.

Nowadays we count among our Members: Olympians, America’s Cup veterans, Admiral’s Cup victors, World Champions in numerous classes as well as Fastnet, Transpac and Sydney to Hobart trophy winners.

Click on the sections below to view our Commodores and Life Members.

Barranjoey Pin Recipients

We are undertaking a series of profiles in the Logbook on Squadron Members who have been awarded a Barranjoey Pin by Australian Sailing for their achievements at Olympic or World Championship Level.

Described as the ‘Baggy Green’ of sailing, the Barranjoey Pin acknowledges the legacy and history of Olympic and Paralympic class sailing in Australia, and recognises those athletes who have achieved the Australian Sailing Team standard since the Team’s establishment in 2006. Many RSYS Members are represented in this elite Australian Sailing Alumni.

Every athlete who has represented Australia at either an Olympic Class World Sailing Championship, IYRU Women’s World Championship, Olympic Games or Paralympic Games prior to 2006 and achieved a Top 10 performance, as well as those athletes who qualified for the Australian Sailing Team after 2006, will receive a uniquely numbered Pin to commemorate their achievement. The Barranjoey Pin is an embodiment of the great traditions and values of those who have competed and continue to compete at the highest level for Australia in sailing.

We are indebted to Squadron Member Gordon Lavery who has interviewed and written the reports below on RSYS Members who have been awarded the Barranjoey Pin. Please note articles are copyright of Gordon Lavery.

Articles by Gordon Lavery

Scroll down to read our Flip Book.

These were first published in the RSYS Logbook magazine.

Gordon Ingate OAM
Pin no 49 for Olympic Team selection, Tempest class, Munich, 1972

Geoff Davidson
Pin no 69 for Olympic Team selection, Finn class, Moscow 1980

Neville Wittey
Pin no 147 for Olympic Team selection, Sydney 2000, World Championships

David Forbes OAM
Pin no 35 for Olympic Team selection, Star Class, Mexico 1968, Munich 1972. Soling Class, Montreal 1976. World Champion 5.5 Class 1970

Ian MacDiarmid
Pin no 77 for Soling and J24 World Champion 1982

Sir James Hardy OBE
Pin no 36 for Olympic Team selection, 5.5m class, Tokyo 1964, Mexico 1968

Mark Bethwaite
Pin no 52 for Olympic Games Munich 1972, Montreal 1976, Olympic Team selection, Moscow 1980

Kristin Kosmala
Pin no 152 for Olympic Games Athens 2004

Bill Solomons
Pin no 42 for Olympic Games Mexico 1968

Iain Murray AM
Pin no 159 for Star Worlds 2005, Olympic Games Beijing 2008

Craig Whitworth
Pin no 45 for Flying Dutchman Worlds 1970

Sir William Northam CBE
Pin no 26 for 5.5m Tokyo Olympics 1964

Below is a Flip-book of the articles. Click on the magnifying glass icon to expand. Click on the arrow to turn the page.