Hamilton Island Race Week underway

Stiff breezes and sunshine have greeted the 35th HIRW which commenced on Sunday 19 August. A near record fleet of 233 entries is racing in 15 divisions. 

Squadron Member Malcolm Shaw, crewing for Peter Williams' Erica (pictured above) reports:

'The first three days of Race Week have been held in fairly strong breezes. The Day 2 start was delayed until the wind dropped below 30 knots. Most crews have rugged up as the wind chill dropped the temperature below 15 degrees. The sailing has been spectacular with clear skies and plenty of sunshine. 

'There are 233 boats here for the week and today being a lay day, crews are relaxing by the many pools scattered around the island. Sundowners will be taken at the Bommie Bar at the Yacht Club. 

'Our crew on Erica is having a great time, with a first on Day 1, 8th after a gear failure on Day 2 and a third on Day 3. Peter has put in many hours of hard work into the preparations for Race Week and his efforts are being rewarded. 

'With lighter winds forecast for the next three days of the regatta, our secret weapons of a light air J1 (genoa) and big spinnaker should help secure some good results.'

Also competing are:

IRC Div 1
Marcus Blackmore, Hooligan
Matt Allen, Ichi Ban
Paul Clitheroe, Balance

IRC Div 2
Ray Roberts, Team Hollywood
Darryl Hodgkinson, Victoire (pictured above)
Julian Farren-Price, About Time

IRC Div 3
Peter Williams, Erica
Joseph Earl, Merlin

PHS Div 3
Ian Macdiarmid, Hellrazer

PHS Div 5
David Henry, Sweet Chariot

(Apologies if we've left you out, do get in touch!)

Good luck to all Squadron Members racing at Hamilton Island!


View current results here

View the video of the day 3 IRC start by Crosbie Lorimer

Photos: top by Bow Caddy Media, bottom by Salty Dingo



ICOYC regatta in Marblehead, Massachusetts

The Eastern Yacht Club in Marblehead, Massachusetts USA is seeking expressions of interest from teams wanting to compete in a J70 regatta to be held off Marblehead from 2 to 6 September 2019. The event is open to club teams made up of Category 1 sailors. The regatta will also feature an extensive social programme for partners.

If you are interested in sending a team for or further information please contact the sailing office.

RSYS is a member of the International Council of Yacht Clubs, and in recent years a number of our Members have travelled overseas to participate in various cruises and rallies. Indeed 13 Squadron Members are presently making their way to Vancouver to join the ICOYC Cruise to the British Columbia Sunshine Coast taking place from 3-13 September.

Find out more about the ICOYC here

Visit EYC's website here


RSYS success at Airlie Beach

RSYS Members featured in the 30th running of the Whitsunday Sailing Club's Airlie Beach Race Week which concluded on 16 August.

In the IRC fleet, three Squadron Members took out all positions on the dais. Matt Allen and his crew on the TP 52 Ichi Ban continued their successful northern campaign winning the Airlie Beach regatta on the back of a divisional win in the Sydney Gold Coast race and overall victory in the 2017 Sydney Hobart race. At Airlie Beach Ichi Ban was chased all the way by Marcus Blackmore and his team on their latest TP 52 Hooligan who finished 2nd just 3 points behind Ichi Ban. In third place was Ray ‘Hollywood’ Roberts in his recently launched Fast 40 Team Hollywood, the latest from the design team at Botin Partners. And in 5th place in the IRC fleet was RSYS Member Dr Darryl Hodgkinson on Victoire.

Also at Airlie Beach in Cruising Division 2, Club Member Ian MacDiarmid and his crack crew on Hellrazer finished with a very credible 5th place in the largest fleet of the Airlie Beach regatta.

Three of the RSYS Tuesday Twilight Cavatina girls were there too.  Penny Scardifield, Margaret Houston and Marjorie Colman sailed with Jeff Shipsey on Sunrise in the Non Spinnaker Division and managed 4th overall, including two wins and a second place. Jeff was the only male in a crew of seven. 'We had an absolutely wonderful week of sailing in stunning weather,' commented Marjorie.

Blessed with fantastic sunshine all week, competitors raced in a wide range of wind conditions.


View full results here

Photos: Top Andrea Francolini, bottom Shirley Wodson



Syd Fischer to join America's Cup Hall of Fame

Renowned Squadron Member Syd Fischer will be inducted into the America's Cup Hall of Fame on 31 August, honouring his long and successful association with the event.

Syd stands among Sir Thomas Lipton and Patrizio Bertelli as the only yachtsmen to have mounted five self-funded challenges for the America's Cup in the event's 166-year history.

Now aged 91, he is also noted for launching the America's Cup careers of some of today's most famous Australian yachtsmen, in particular Jimmy Spithill, Iain Murray and Hugh Treharne, who was tactician aboard the 1983 Cup winner, Australia II.

Syd entered the America's Cup arena in 1983 with his challenge contender, Advance. Then, for the Cup defence in Fremantle in 1986-87, he campaigned the whimsically named Steak'n'Kidney (rhyming slang for Sydney). In 1992, it was Challenge Australia; in 1995, Sydney '95, and, in 2000, Young Australia, with Spithill at the helm.

Syd sailed aboard his Cup yachts on many occasions and also took a direct interest in the administration of the America's Cup as a member of the Challenger of Record Committee.

Outside of the America's Cup, he is recognised as Australia's most successful offshore sailor. He has claimed victory in two of the world's major ocean racing events - the Sydney to Hobart and the Fastnet race, won the One Ton Cup world championship and led six Australian campaigns for the Admiral's Cup in England.

His achievements in yachting have earned him the Order of the British Empire (OBE), he was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM), inducted into the New South Wales Sports Hall of Fame, and was twice-named Australia's Yachtsman of the Year.

The Herreshoff Marine Museum / America's Cup Hall of Fame will induct Syd Fischer, John K. Marshall, Doug Peterson and Ken McAlpine into the America's Cup Hall of Fame on August 31, 2018 at the Royal Yacht Squadron in Cowes, England, pictured above.

Read more about the other inductees at www.sail-world.com