Podium finish at Laser Worlds

Congratulations RSYS Youth Members Zac West and Mark Louis who have achieved 2nd and 3rd place respectively at the 2019 ILCA Laser Radial Men's World Championship. They competed in a fleet of 32 at the event in Sakaiminato City, Japan.  

The prize giving and closing ceremony will be held tonight, 24 July.

View provisional results here

Gold in Nacra15

Congratulations to RSYS Youth Member Will Cooley and his team mate Rebecca Hancock who have won Gold in the Nacra 15 class at the Hempel Youth Sailing World Championship in Gdynia, Poland. 

Close team work and consistency were key to the pair's unbeatable nine point lead, according to Will: 'Being consistent and working together as best as we can, that’s what this came from. There wasn’t any secret to it. All the effort we’ve put it, to see it come out the other end is just the best feeling.'

Results Nacra 15 (Mixed team) 
Will Cooley and Rebecca Hancock (NSW): 2, 3, 2, 5, 5, 4, 7, (8), 4, 2, 8, 5 – 1st

Squadron Members also competed in the other classses:

Boys 29er - Max Paul and team mate Archie Cropley 3rd  
Boys 420 - Ryan Littlechild and Jack Ferguson 12th
Girls laser - Maddie O'Shea 26th

These great results contributed to Team Australia coming 6th overall - well done everyone! And thank you to all your supportive (and well-travelled) families. 

View all class results here
Videos on the event facebook pafge here

Photo by Robert Hajduk / World Sailing

Australian Sailing honours our Members

Congratulations to RSYS Members who were recognised by Australian Sailing at the NSW Awards night on Saturday 6 July. 

Tim Cox - Lifetime Achievement Award, pictured above.

Martin Hill - Male Sailor of the Year, below right. 

The Squadron (along with RPAYC, CYCA, MHYC & RANSA) was awarded the Sports Promotion Award for its role in supporting the sailing events of the Invictus Games. Below right, with Vice Commodore Christian Brook attending.


At the same event, Barranjoey Pins were awarded to:

Sir James Hardy. A two-time Olympian, first at the Tokyo 1964 Games and four years later at the 1968 Mexico Games in the 5.5 Class. 

Mark Bethwaite. Competed in the Flying Dutchman class at the 1972 Munich Olympic Games and 1976 Games in Montreal. 

Rob Thornton. Competed in the two-man Tempest class alongside Gordon Ingate at the 1972 Munich Games. 

Joshua Grace. Represented Australia in the Soling class at the Sydney 2000 Olympics alongside teammates David Edwards and Neville Whitey.

We are very proud of our Members.


Photos by Darcie Collington Photography view more here


RSYS Members win the Etchells Worlds (again!)

Squadron Members Iain Murray and Richie Allanson have won the 2019 Etchells World Championships in Corpus Christi, Texas, USA along with fellow crew member, well known Sydney yachtsman Colin Beashel, in their boat Havoc.  The Havoc team were clinical in their sailing all through the event and led the regatta from the end of day one and continued to lead the regatta everyday thereafter to comfortably win the event by two points from their fellow Australians on Magpie: RSYS Member James Mayo, sailing with Graeme Taylor and Tom Slingsby.

It was a fantastic regatta for all the competing RSYS teams who finished in the top half of the 37 strong fleet, drawn from across the globe and featuring previous Etchells world champions, Olympic gold medalists and America's cup sailors. The excellent performances by all of the RSYS Etchells teams at the World Championships highlights the enormous depth of talent amongst the RSYS Etchells fleet; the Squadron has now producing back to back Etchells Worlds champions for two years in a row following on from Martin Hill's (our 2019 Yachtsman of the year) win at the 2018 Etchells Worlds in Brisbane. Martin and his crew finished a very respectable 8th in the 2019 event.

Congratulations to all the RSYS Members on great results.

View full results here