Congratulations Finn Alexander

Club Member Finn Alexander, 18, has been awarded Australian Sailing Youth Sailor of the Year 2017. His success was announced at the annual awards ceremony on Friday 3 November. 

He's had a superb year - he convincingly defeated a strong fleet to win the Laser class Youth World Championship and took a first-placing and fifth overall at the Australian Laser Championships.

'It’s been a long journey for me to try to get to the top of the youths. I’m really happy to have made it through with the help of a lot of really great coaches and mentors, my parents and friends.'  Read more here

The occasion also marked the inaugural Australian Sailing Hall of Fame, and RSYS was honoured to have three of its illustrious Members inducted: Grant Simmer OAM, Sir James Hardy OBE and Bill Northam.

Grant and Sir James were recognised for being part of the team of Australia II that won the America’s Cup in 1983 -  breaking America’s 132-year winning streak in sport’s oldest trophy; truely one of the most remarkable feats in Australian sporting history. 

Bill, together with  Peter ‘Pod’ O’Donnell & James ‘Dick’ Sargeant achieved Australia’s first Olympic sailing gold medal, winning the 5.5mR class at the Tokyo 1964 Olympic Games. Bill was the skipper, and at age 59, and a grandfather of five, was the oldest Australian to have ever won an Olympic gold medal. Read more here




Christmas Fun at the Squadron

There are many social occasions to look forward to this Summer. Why not invite some friends and introduce them to our wonderful Club?

Summer Wine Show
Sunday 3 December 11am-2pm
Sample and purchase fine foods and wines for Christmas
Members $20, Guests $25
book here

Bridge Members’ Christmas luncheon
Thursday 7 December 11am
A festive buffet with Bridge tables available as required
Members & Guests $82
​book here

Intermediates’ Christmas Drinks
Friday 8 December 5.30pm
Sundowners & live music at the Roof Top Bar

Squadron Grand Buffets
Saturday 9 December 6pm, Sunday 17 December 12pm
Adults $72, Children $32
​book here

Cruising Division Christmas Drinks
An evening on the James Craig
Monday 11 December 6pm, $86
book here

Family & Friends Night
‘Flavours of Shenzhou’
Wednesday 13 December 6pm
​book here

Christmas Dining-In Night
Thursday 14 December 7pm
Our popular Yuletide dinner with carol singing
Members & Guests $130
​book here

Children’s Christmas Party
Sunday 17 December 12-3.30pm
With Santa, a petting zoo, a magic show, jumping castles
Buffet lunch $72 Adults, $32 Children, $10 for entertainment only
​book here

Wine tasting
Wednesday 20 December 6-8pm
​book here

Boxing Day Ferries and Lunch
Tuesday 26 December 11.15am
​book here

New Year's Eve
Sunday 31 December
Celebrate with dinner in the CCA
​book here

Are Animals the new Oceanographers?

Prof. Rob Harcourt and Kate Parsons of the Sydney Institute of Marine Science will address the Cruising Division on 22 November - all Members welcome!

Scientsists are moving towards an integrated approach to observing the oceans. Marine animals are one of the most powerful tools scientists have for uncovering what’s happening below the surface of the ocean, and provide a unique window of observation into some of the most remote and physically inaccessible parts of the ocean.

Over the last decade, hundreds of diving animals have helped collect vital data on environmental conditions in the Antarctic and the surrounding Southern Ocean. Join us and find out more.

Event details:
Date: Wednesday 22 November
Time: 6pm for 6.20pm start 
Venue: CCA

Members book here


Success at Etchells QLD Champs

The Sydney Fleet was very well represented and achieved excellent results at the States hosted by RQYS from 27-29 October.  

The fleet of 37 boats completed seven races in fine conditions.  

RSYS Member Jeanne-Claude Strong of YandooXX achieved third overall. She commented: 'RQYS put on a great regatta, and competition was pretty fierce. We were lucky to have good starts, and we got to the top mark in the first five boats every race, so we were happy with that. Two wins weren’t enough for us to defend our title from last year, but we gave it our best!'



1st The Cure 1445, D Clark, A Smith, M Luxton, R Smith 17 pts

2nd Magpie 947 G Taylor, J Mayo, S Jarvin 19 pts

3rd YandooXX 868 JC Strong, S Jarvin, M Burke, T Wittey 23 pts

4th GenXY 864 M Chew, A Deeks, B Vercoe, B Donovan 31 pts

5th Top40 1332 P Merrington, G Bonouvrie, I McKillop 39 pts

6th Iron Lotus 1442 T King, D Edwards, I Wheen, O McMahon 39 pts 

9th The Holeway 1306 G Crowle, H Rockford, J Mayjor 55 pts

11th Ciao 1244 D McGain, S Clark, M O'Brien 62 pts

19th Thelastone 1392 S Billingham, A Dolin, W Lewis 107 pts

23rd Surprise 1128 M Fisk, B Sims, R Fisk 125 pts

Photo finish: YandooXX vs Magpie race 4

Photo by Adventures of a Sailing Girl


View full results at

Photos and videos at Etchells Australia

RSYS sailors shortlisted for Awards

RSYS Members Will Ryan and Finn Alexander have been nominated for this year's Australian Sailing Awards. Finn, 18 and pictured above, is one of six contenders for the Youth Sailor of the Year, and Will, 28, has been nominated with his sailing partner Mathew Belcher in the Male Sailor of the Year class.   

The Awards ceremony will take place on Friday 3 November at the Hyatt Regency, 161 Sussex Street, Sydney. Why not gather a group of RSYS Members and request group seating?


This year, the Awards function will incorporate the inaugural Hall of Fame inductions to officially celebrate the people whose exceptional performance and contribution helped establish Australia’s current era of remarkable success. This event offers supporters the opportunity to rub shoulders with some of our nation’s highest sailing achievers, the true legends of Australian Sailing.

View Finalists here  |  History of the Australian Sailing Awards here  |  List of previous winners here