Tuesday Twilight prize giving

Tuesday racing recommences 7 February and concludes 14 March, followed by a prize giving dinner in the CCA.

Our generous sponsor Paspaley will present eight Australian South Sea pearl pendants and award one lucky crew an exclusive Pearl Discovery experience which includes a visit to the Pearl Room located in the heritage bank vaults that lie beneath their flagship boutique in Martin Place.

Four pendants will be awarded to overall winners and the rest to four boats drawn on the night. To be eligible for the draw, boats must have sailed 75% or more of the series.

Bring your crew, family and friends to this enjoyable dinner event!

RSVP online here

Last year's happy winners:


Etchells Milson Silver Goblets return to Sydney Harbour 

The Sydney Etchells fleet is once again looking forward to hosting one of the marquee events on the annual Australian Etchells racing calendar from 31 January to 4 February. On offer will be the historic Milson Silver Goblets.

Hosted by RSYS, the event uniquely combines mid-week twilight start times with a three race programme on Saturday for a total race programme of six races that make the most of exceptional summer sailing conditions on Sydney Harbour, particularly on weekdays with Harbour traffic at a minimum. 

Last year’s regatta was won by 2000 Olympic Gold Medallist and 2012 Etchells World Champion, Tom King

'This year’s regatta is shaping up as one of the best in the events history. With the Australian Championship having just concluded, the leading contenders are all in top form,' said Sydney Etchells Fleet Captain Mike Tyquin.

More than 30 entries are expected with the typical high standard of racing that the Etchells class provides, especially in the Sydney Fleet. The regatta will conclude with a prize giving dinner on Saturday evening after racing.

Entries are open and the Notice of Race and Entry Forms are available via the RSYS website here 
For more information, please contact the Fleet Captain Mike Tyquin or call 0422 381 151.

Saturday 21 January results

Saturday saw more refreshing temperatures on the Harbour compared to the night before for the Friday twilight. With temperatures in the low 20s and light to medium Southerly winds, racers could not complain with what was served. It was a relatively packed day of racing with race 17 of the Saturday series and races 19-21 of the MINI A regattas. Competition in both series is heating up with a solid aggregate of boats and crews competing for the win in their respective divisions and classes.

Coming up this weekend is another day of racing in the Saturday summer series in which there is the first Etchells world qualifiers. Along with the MINI B regatta where races 10-12 of the King Haakon Cup for the Ynglings will take place.


Podium Results- 20 January

Division 1

  1. Much Ado V – John & Michael Stephen 
  2. Impetuous Too – Graeme Lambert
  3. I Super – Peter Campbell   

Division 2

  1. Agent 88 – Stephen Ellis
  2. Soundtrack – John Amos
  3. Senta – Julie & Terry Clarke

Division 3

  1. Lunacy – Tom Moult
  2. Zeus II – Jim Dunstan
  3. Kirsten II – Ken Chase / John Bowman


  1. Troika – Callum Thompson & Adam Tran
  2. Yertle – Jan Newland / Warrick Back




  1. Wobbegong – Doug Flynn – 9 pts
  2. Top 40 – Bonouvrie / Merrington – 9 pts
  3. Yandoo XX – Jeanne-Claude Strong – 11 pts



  1. Whimsical – Gordon Ingate – 5 pts
  2. Ascalon – Jim Hawkins & Andrew Howe – 6 pts
  3. Liquidity – Richard Franklin – 7 pts


View full resuts here


By Angus Olding

Tricky conditions for 20 Jan Friday Twilights

It was the second Audi Alto Artarmon Friday twilight race post-Christmas and New Year for race 13 of the series. Shifty winds kept crews busy as wind directions swung N to SE to E to N again. The mercury hovered around 30c creating muggy conditions, until a slight drizzle arrived, to the relief of the competitors. The weather may be to blame for the slightly lower turnout this week with 46 boats out on the water. Nevertheless, it was very enjoyable for those who raced.

Congratulations to the winner of the Audi for the week, Chris Harper from Crackerjack. 




Division 1

  1. Jackie Clare – Geoff Davidson
  2. XLR8 – Ivan Wheen
  3. Just Quietly – Donald & Sue Swanson

Division 2

  1. Zig Zag II – Malcom Shaw & Mike Seymour
  2. Koolaroo – David FitzSimons
  3. Co Co – Russell and Melissa Taylor

Division 3

  1. S’Wonderful – John Marty
  2. Flying Circus – John Greenwood & Geoff Deakin
  3. Patsy – Daneil Yaffe

Division 4

  1. Valentis
  2. Beowulf – Stafford Watts


View full results here 

By Angus Olding


Australian Youth Championship Success

Congratulations to the 14 RSYS Laser sailors who competed in the Australian Youth Championship held at the Adelaide Sailing Club from 10–14 January. It was a terrific event for the RSYS sailors and it was the first Youth national championship in the Laser class for many of our young sailors.  

In the Laser Radial, Marlena Berzins was the top performer, winning the Youth Female National Championship and finishing 10th overall. Oskar Hansen followed closely behind in 15th and had a race win in the first race. Henry, Carlotta and Maddie were all racing in their first Radial Youth Nationals and soaked up the experience to prepare for next year!  

For more information on Youth sailing at our Club, please contact Andrew Phillips in the Sailing Office at: andrew.phillips@rsys.com.au or call 9017 0153.

RSYS Laser 4.7 Results (45 Boats)
1st – Jack Littlechild
8th – Boston Cortis
9th – Will Cooley
14th – Zac West
18th – Daniel Costandi
20th – Mark Louis
27th – Brooke Wilson
33rd – Sylvie Stannage
44th – Riley Evans

RSYS Laser Radial Results (47 Boats)
1st Female and 10th Overall – Marlena Berzins
15th – Oskar Hansen (pictured)
32nd – Carlotta Cruesemann
34th – Henry Davison
38th – Maddie O’Shea

By Mike Leigh (Coach)