The National Sailing League


The Sailing Champions League (SCL) is a winning concept in the northern hemisphere, taking off from the start-up league in Germany in 2013 to involve 21 nations and more than 300 clubs in 2019. Now it’s the southern hemisphere’s turn!

Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, host club of the recent SailGP world premiere, is the launchpad for the first ever National Sailing League (NSL) event in Australia. The regatta will run from  25 – 28 April 2019. The format is three days of one design keelboat racing, using six Elliott 7s, and a maximum of 24 teams competing in 45 races of 12-15 minutes duration to find the top two clubs in the Women’s, Youth and Open divisions.

The top Australian and New Zealand Open division teams automatically qualify for a spot at the SCL final in St Moritz, Switzerland in August. 

The top two Youth teams will be eligible to compete at the SCL Youth Event in Kiel, Germany in June and the top two Women's teams at the SCL Women’s Final in 2020.

RSYS will enter up to three teams (one in each division) and we are looking for teams (made up exclusively of RSYS Members) to represent our Club at this event. You must submit an expression of interest to register your interest.

Send us your Expression of Interest today

Read more about the NSL and how to participate

General Enquiries to the NSL


Photo Darcie Collington Photgraphy