Youth Sailing Prize Giving

The Youth Sailing Prizing Giving was held on 18 May 2018 and concluded the 2017-2018 season. The event celebrated the achievements of the youth sailors with a number of them receiving awards recognising their outstanding performances. More than 110 youth sailors and parents attended the event, along with their coaches and the Youth Sailing Committee. During his welcoming speech, Commodore Richard Chapman reflected on the sense of community that had been engendered over the last season and congratulated all the sailors on their achievements throughout the year.

Presentations and awards:

Optimist Green Fleet
Most Improved – Ben Tattersall
Most Outstanding – Oliver Swiderski

Optimist Fleet 
Junior Sailing Pointscore Trophy – Isobel Payne
HB Jarrett Junior Sailing Championship Shield – Rohan Stannage
Most Improved – Abby Gilbert
Most Outstanding – Rohan Stannage

Laser 4.7 
Youth Committee 4.7 Handicap Trophy – Ashleigh Baber
Marj Colman 4.7 Scratch Trophy – Dan Costandi
Most Improved – Gretel Payne
Most Outstanding – Brooke Wilson and Dan Costandi

Laser Radial 
T E Morgan Memorial Trophy – Tim Stubbs-Race
Youth Committee Radial Scratch Trophy – Campbell Patton
Most Improved – Zac West
Most Outstanding – Maddie O’Shea and Campbell Patton

Laser Club Championship - The Chairman’s Trophy of Youth Sailing
Laser Radial – Campbell Patton
Laser 4.7 – Dan Costandi

Optimist Club Championship
Optimist – Rohan Stannage

RSYS Youth Summer Camp Australia Day Regatta Trophy
Winner – Team Yellow: Rowena Brown, Douglas Cassidy, Harriet McLachlan, Charles Smith, Sylvie Stannage, Simon Swiderski, Marlena Berzins (coach)

Special Perpetual and Clubmanship Awards:

Swish Perpetual Trophy
Charlotte Alexander

Optimist Achievement Award
Oliver McLachlan

Optimist Award for Excellence
Rowena Brown

The ‘Spirit of the Squadron’ Trophy
Charlie Smith

The Paul Warring Memorial Trophy
Oskar Hansen

The Norman G Booth Trophy
Tim Stubbs-Race

2018/2019 Season Youth Captains
Sylvie Stannage and Charlie Smith

2018/2019 Squadron Development Program Captain
Charlotte Griffin

Article and photos by Zac Quinlan