Dragon NSW Championship

The NSW Dragon Championship was contested last weekend out of RSYS. Seven boats challenged the State title, creating a solid platform for strong rivalry and competiveness within the fleet. Nine races were scheduled but due to the weather race three was abandoned.

Day one produced close racing between Trio and Ascalon, who both finished on four points, with the third race abandoned due to severe NE winds reaching 30 kts in the afternoon. The second day of racing saw three races completed in quite strong breeze. Rob Porter and his crew on Whimsical had a great day finishing with two firsts and a second. Sunday brought much calmer conditions compared to the first two days, with a range of wind directions between 10-15 kts.

Gavin Moss from Intrigue commented on the championship: ‘Whilst I only competed in one race, there are stories of the wild weather on the Friday and the challenges to equipment and crew. On Saturday with the weather up again, survival became the tactic for some, whilst the leaders battled for the Honours.’

The final result went down to the last race, where first and second place were separated by only two points. In the end Trio was victorious and proved consistency is key by only ever finishing in the top three of any race. Congratulations Matt Whitnall and crew on being the 2017 Dragon NSW Champions.

Overall placings:

1.   Trio, Matt Whitnall, DSC  16 pts

2.   Whimsical, Rob Porter, RSYS  17 pts

3.   Ascalon, Andrew Howe, RSYS  22 pts

4.   Liquidity, Richard Franklin, RSYS  39 pts

5.   Abracadabra, Nicholas Hogg & John Marty, RSYS  50 pts

6.   Intrigue, Gavin Moss, RSYS  58 pts

7.   Tom Thumb III, Norman Longworth, RSYS  60 pts


The fleet will now continue to prepare for the next big regatta, The Prince Phillip Cup, which will be contested in Victoria in January.


By Angus Olding

Photo from TAM Trophy 2017