Gilmour brothers set for another match race duel

West Australian brothers David and Sam Gilmour are set for another duel when they each skipper a team in the prestigious Hardy Cup Under 25 ISAF Grade 3 match racing event on Sydney Harbour, starting tomorrow.

The brothers last week fought out the final of the Warren Jones Youth Match Race Regatta in Perth, with elder brother David winning a tightly fought title in three straight races.

Sons of former America’s helmsman and world match racing champion Peter Gilmour, the brothers and their crews arrived at the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron today where the eleven teams for the Hardy Cup had a day of practice racing on the Harbour.

The Hardy Cup, an initiative of America’s Cup helmsman and Squadron member Sir James Hardy,  has over the past 12 years proved a significant stepping stone to national international yachting for many young sailors from throughout Australia,  New Zealand and other overseas countries.

This year’s Hardy Cup fleet represents yacht clubs in Sydney, Perth,  Gosford, Wellington and Auckland, New Zealand and Singapore and includes the four top placed skippers from last week’s Warren Jones Regatta:  David and Sam Gilmour from WA, New Zealander Chris Steele and Matthew Jerwood, also from WA.

David Gilmour, a member of Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, has an ISAF match race ranking of 33. He won the Hardy Cup in 2012, last year finishing second to the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron’s David Chapman who has now reached the age limit.  

David Gilmour’s team is Team Gilmour,  brother Sam’s is Neptune Racing,  also from the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club.

Chris Steele, who finished third to Chapman and Gilmour last year, is representing the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron with his 36 Below racing team.

Representing the RSYS is the experienced match racing helmsman Jordan Reece, his Estate Master team comprising Max Vos, Milly Bennett and Jaiden Stevens.

Other teams competing are:

Youth Scheme, Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club, Wellington, New Zealand. Skipper: Adam Middleton.

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, Sydney. Skipper: Jay Griffin,

Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, Pittwater.  Skipper: Malcolm Parker.

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, Sydney.  Skipper: Andy Green.

Singapore National Sailing Centre, Singapore. Skipper Justin Liu.

Redline Racing,  South of Perth Yacht Club,  Perth.  Skipper: Matthew Jerwood.

Gosford Sailing Club, Gosford.  Skipper: Sam Ellis.

Starting from tomorrow morning, the 11 teams will contest a double round robin, then a single round robin to qualify the top placed the top four skippers and their teams.  A semi final knockout will see a petit final knockout and the then final knockout to decide the winner of the 2014 Hardy Cup.

Peter Campbell