Nominate your Sailor of the Year!

Let's recognise our top sailors!  

The RSYS Sailing Committee is calling upon Members to nominate an appropriate person for one of the five significant awards for the 2019-2020 sailing season. The time period for consideration for the award is 1 May 2019 to 30 April 2020. Those awards are: 

Yachtswoman of the Year 
Yachtsman of the Year  
Flag Officers' Crewperson of the Year
Youth Sailor of the Year
Ruth McCance Memorial Trophy new

If you know someone who you think should be acknowledged, please read the criteria for each award and complete the online nomination form. Your contribution would be very much appreciated.  Nominations close on Friday 15 May.

Annual Awards nomination 2020
For which award are you nominating? (select one from the drop-down menu)
Invalid Input
Nominee's name(*)
Invalid Input
Why do you think they should win this award?(*)
Please let us know your message.
Your Name(*)
Please let us know your name.
Your Email(*)
Please let us know your email address.
Invalid Input


Award Criteria

Yachtswoman of the Year - The Joanne Trophy
Donated to the club in memory of Mrs Joan Godfrey.  A sailor of more than 50 years she started out in VJs at Vaucluse, then in 12ft Skiffs and eventually in keelboats.  She was and enthusiast, deeply involved and an active participant rather than a spectator.  The trophy is to be awarded annually to a woman who, like Joan:

  • Sails regularly from the Squadron
  • Is, above all, enthusiastic, deeply involved and an active participant - even if her role be relatively unobtrusive

The activities can relate to any aspect of sailing from junior to family sailing.  It should preferably not be oriented towards, but not exclude, competitive sailing. There is no age limit. 

Yachtsman of the Year - The Idris Cup  
Donated to the club in memory of Mrs Idris Wolseley Picton-Clark, born in Sydney in 1894 to a pioneer family.  Mrs Clark was a life long devotee of both rowing and sailing. To be awarded to the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron amateur yachtsman or woman of the year.  In making the award the principal considerations are: 

  • Excellence in local, national and international sail competition
  • Demonstration of the art of good seamanship and sportsmanlike conduct

Flag Officers' Crewperson of the Year - Carabella Tray
This award will recognizes a Squadron member who has demonstrated a high level of commitment to their sailing and contributed to the success of their skipper in club and regatta events.

Youth Sailor of the Year
Criteria for this award, established in 2019 is: 

  •  Aged 25 or under as of April 30 in the year of nomination
  • Have a record of outstanding achievement in national and or international competition
  • Have followed a committed training program during the award year, and brought recognition to RSYS competitive sailing
  • Have demonstrated leadership and sportsmanship

Ruth McCance Memorial Trophy
In its inaugural year, this trophy will be awarded to the best sportsperson of the year at the club. This award embodies the spirit and traditions of the club and encompasses the love of competition, fair play, support of the sport of sailing and contribution to club life. The award shall be awarded by the sailing committee who shall consider following guidelines in its deliberations:

  • The winner shall be a member of the RSYS
  • The member shall embody the club values of Integrity, progressiveness, inclusiveness, respect and safety
  • The winner must have competed in a sailing event run by the RSYS in the award period
  • Shall demonstrate a high level of sportsmanship at all times. Their behaviour shall be ethical, appropriate, polite, and fair
  • Shall contribute to the development of the sport of sailing
  • Shall contribute to club life
  • Should display courage in what they undertake either in competition or service
  • The activities in the previous full club year, based on membership fee due date, shall be the basis of consideration.
  • A nominee may be professional however activities undertaken in a professional capacity will be excluded from consideration
  • Nominations shall be received from the general membership
  • Committee members are eligible for the award but they may not be nominated by a current member of any committee
  • A member may not self nominate.

Past Winners

Yachtsman of the Year

2018-19 Martin Hill
2017-18 Rupert Henry and Greg O'Shea
2016-17 Rob Lowndes
2015-16 Paul Clitheroe
2014-15 Roger Hickman

Yachtswoman of the Year

2018-19 Karyn Gojnich
2017-18 Maddie O'Shea
2016-17 Jeanne-Claude Strong
2015-16 Millie Brown
2014-15 Jeanne-Claude Strong

Crewperson of the Year

2018-19 Richard Allanson
2017-18 Will Ryan
2016-17 David Chapman 
2015-16 David Chapman
2014-15 David Chapman

Youth Sailor of the Year

2018-19 Brooke Wilson