Ladies Twilight prize giving

The Paspaley Tuesday Twilight season concluded last night and was feted with pearls, trophies, champagne and much friendship and laughter. The Tuesday sailors have increased in numbers, but most importantly, bonded as a community, furthering and encouraging women’s participation in sailing. 

Following an address by Karyn Gojnich thanking the skippers who bring LOTS graduates on to their boats, the crew of Allegro made the weekly presentations – with great flair! 

After dinner, Commodore Richard Chapman introduced our series sponsor, Chris Paspaley, who has so generously supported our series for two years. Chris referred to the great affinity Paspaley has with our Club due to our shared passion for the ocean. “We appreciate the same elements and we work with Mother Nature. Both Paspaley and RSYS share a spirit of community and enjoying what’s important in life,” he added.

Chris then made the trophy presentations to the Division winners, each of whom received a Squadron trophy and a beautiful Australian South Sea pearl pendant. The crew of Enigma won the overall Pointscore and are invited to a Pearl Discovery experience to the Pearl Room at Paspaley’s flagship store in Martin Place. 

Those boats that had raced in at least 75% of the series were then placed into a lucky prize draw to win a pearl pendant. To much applause and cheering, Chris Paspaley announced the lucky recipients: Muffi Barbour, Well Inclined; Jackie Taylor, Allegro; Eve Shepherd, Trilogy and Melissa Taylor, Coco.

The series would not be possible without the hard work and dedication of the small army of volunteers who manage the races each week, and to our Ladies Sailing Convenor, Karyn Gojnich; we thank you!

Week 12 race results

Ladies PHS

1st Kookaburra, Jill Hammond
2nd Rapunzel, Sandy lawson
3rd Wine-Dark Sea, Sarah Goddard-Jones


Ynglings/Elliotts PHS

1st Miss Pibb, Angelica Vaness
2nd Evie, Sara Ladd
3rd Elliott 2, Claire-Loiuse Mitchell


Best Start

Elliott 2, Francesca Greco (with LOTS ladies & Claudia Thackray)


Season Prizes

Gypsy Moth IV trophy
1st overall mini-series winner in the Ladies non-spinnaker division

Enigma, Anne Connery


Bluebird Trophy
1st overall mini-series winner in the Ladies Elliott / Yngling spinnaker division

Evie, Sara Ladd


Jan Rowed Memorial Trophy
PHS Ladies non-spinnaker division main series winner

1st Enigma, Anne Connery
2nd Kookaburra, Jill Hammond
3rd Rapunzel, Sandy Lawson


Lady Helm Trophy
PHS Ladies Elliott / Yngling spinnaker division main series winner

1st Miss Pibb, Angelica Vaness
2nd Evie, Sara Ladd
3rd Elliott 1, Siobhan White


Open Division Pointscore

1st As You Do, Ross Littlewood
2nd Mercier, James Merrington
3rd Pilgrim, Paul Ley

Participation Lucky Draw prizes

Muffi Barbour, Well Inclined
Jackie Taylor, Allegro
Eve Shepherd, Trilogy
Melissa Taylor, Coco


View full results here

View more photos on Facebook

Find out about forthcoming Learn to Sail courses here