Jarrett Jewellery takes the Gold

The crew of Hamish Jarrett, Max Hayman and Alana Bracken have taken out the 2015 International Yngling Australian championship.  Second place was AUS45 Gary Wogas with team mates Dave Harley and Cameron Sloey.  Winner of the Sirroco trophy for the first female boat and third overall was AUS59 Karyn Gojnich, Ruth McCance and Alex Murray.

Sponsored by the long term class supporter GILL, the International Yngling Australian National Championship was raced over a three day weekend and the fleet sailed in a variety of conditions for the nine race series.  Hosted by the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron and sailed on Sydney Harbour the fleet of 14 boats boasted past national champions, world champions, Olympians as well as some that were new to the class including skipper Sarah Leslie on AUS48 Shinning Star who was taking a break from her optimist.

Racing on each day presented challenges.  Day 1 pressure was king. With a light, under 10 knots, south easterly.  Big shifts and big variations in pressure made it challenging for both the PRO and sailors alike.  Over the day the wind direction clocked left moving the top of the race course underneath Neilson Park headland making it somewhat of a lottery getting into and back out of the top mark area.

The only international entry in the fleet Maarten Jamin racing NED335 constantly improved over the day as he and his crew Andrew Thompson and Alexia Biggs became more comfortable with their chartered boat Holly.

Handicap wins for the day went to AUS4 Wyndot Bryan Riddell, Joanne Slater and Dimiter Nedialkov in race 1.  Race 2 Jan Newland, Warrick Back and Olga Skatkova on AUS34 were having a blinder and took the win.  AUS19 Schadenfreude Daniel Marlay, Nicole Follington and Fiona Galbraith won race 3.

Day 2 the degree of difficulty stepped up.  Saturday afternoon is definitely the busiest time on Sydney Harbour.  Not only did the Yngling fleet have to contend with the International Dragons and the Sports Boats that were racing on the same course area but the usual Saturday afternoon congestion on Sydney Harbour with ferries, yachts ranging from 20 footers to 60 footers, a solid Etchells fleet and a cruise ship mid afternoon played havoc with the Yngling one design racing.

Race 4 the all girl crew on AUS28 Young Achiever of Thalia Voarino, Jo van Hagen, Sarah Dawes and Lovelle D’Souza were crossing tacks with the leaders and rounded the first mark in 3rd place before coming to grief and shredding their spinnaker downwind.  Luckily the girls were thinking ahead to be carrying a spare.  A large outgoing tide helped the boats that opted for right hand side of the course strategy vs the left hand side of the course breeze angle.

Race 5 was delayed allowing a large cruise ship to come into the harbour.  AUS59 led around the first lap but distracted with the Etchells fleet coming down wind failed to keep a tight cover on AUS60 allowing them to get to the starboard hand advantage and lead into the top mark for the last down wind leg and the race win.  AUS27 Troika Callum Thompson, Chris Pearson and Beckie Pearson took the handicap win in both race 4 and 5.

In Race 6 AUS45 enjoyed the increased pressure and led from start to finish.  As overall points were close AUS60 chose to stay close to AUS59 rather than tackle AUS45 & NED355 working the right hand side.  Only seconds were separating 2nd, 3rd & 4th at the finish.  The handicap win for the race went to AUS4 Wyndot. 

Day 3 the summer nor-easter was in with the breeze at 050, 045 & 045 for races 7, 8 and 9 respectively, building from 15 knots to 20 knots later in the afternoon.  AUS45 Karma had a solid day with a 2, 3, 1 to close the points gap and move into second overall.

Race 8 saw laser sailor come new Yngling owner Elyse Guerara-Rattray sailing AUS47 Mojo with Kat Wotherspoon and Philip Dohna take the handicap win.

Race 9 the obstacles on the Harbour were now the flying 18 foot skiffs.  With the breeze up it was taking its toll on the fleet. AUS34 and AUS27 locked masts & hooked the backstay.  AUS57 Robyn Grosvenor broached in the rolling waves, and AUS56 Black Adder had some major onboard drama when their spinnaker halyard would not come down at the bottom mark.

Overall it was a great three days of close racing to decide the ultimate placings on the podium.  



1st        AUS4 Wyndot Bryan Riddell, Joanne Slater, Dimiter Nedialkov

2nd       AUS19 Schadenfreude Daniel Marlay, Nicole Follington, Fiona Galbraith

3rd       AUS27 Troika Chris Pearson, Callum Thompson, Beckie Pearson



1st        AUS60 Jarret Jewelry Hamish Jarrett, Max Hayman, Alana Bracken

2nd       AUS45 Gary Wogas, Dave Harley, Cameron Sloey

3rd       AUS59 Karyn Gojnich, Ruth McCance, Alex Murray


Full results here

Photo Gallery