Inspirational Paspaley Tuesday Twilights

11.3.20 A standing ovation greeted the announcement that Sandy Lawson of Rapunzel had won this year’s Tuesday Twilight Inspiration Award. The 2019 recipient Genevieve Slattery (left) presented Sandy (right) with the beautiful trophy, first donated by the late Jan Williams, which recognises women over 55 who have either started to sail later in life or returned to our sport after a hiatus.

Sandy has competed in every Tuesday Twilight competition since its inception and has provided the opportunity for other women, often lacking experience, to sail on Sydney Harbour and in Pittwater during the Annual Cruise. 

Captain Karyn Gojnich welcomed Chris Paspaley to the stage for the series presentation. ‘Thank you once again to Paspaley for supporting our series, their fifth with RSYS. Their support has contributed to the expansion of our Ladies sailing and Tuesday Twilights community – as evidenced by the capacity crowd in the Carabella Room tonight. It is always a pleasure to welcome Chris Paspaley to our prizegiving event, tonight he will present four pairs of Maxima stud earrings to the overall winners and an additional four pairs to the lucky draw winners.’ 

The Ladies One Design Division spinnaker

Main Series – the Lady Helm trophy

1st The Jackal – Amy Gojnich
2nd Holly – Elyse Guevara-Rattray
3rd Elliott 4 – Nikki O’Shea

View series results here

Amy Gojnich (The Jackal) with Chris Paspaley

The Ladies Division non-spinnaker

Main Series – the Jan Rowed trophy

1st Trilogy – Eve Sheppard
2nd Lively – Sophie Nelson
3rd Kookaburra – Jill Hammond

The crew of Trilogy with Chris Paspaley.

The Open Division non-spinnaker

1st James Merrington, Mercier

View series resuts here


The delighted ‘participation’ recipients were L to R: Linda Bell (Viva la Vita), Courtney Harris (Elliott 2), Genevieve Slattery (Genovefa), Kim Ketelbey (Elliott 1) with Chris Paspaley.


Trophy Series

Within the Tueseday Twilights we have a ‘mini series’ made up of three races and these were sailed on 17 December, 11 February and 10 March. 

The Bluebird trophy awarded in the Ladies One Design Spinnaker division

1st Mojo – Kirstin Reblin

The crew of Mojo collected the Blue Bird trophy

The Gypsy Moth IV trophy
awarded in the Ladies non-spinnaker division

1st Trilogy – Eve Sheppard

Eve Shepherd helming Trilogy

10 March / Race 12 prizes  

Ladies One Design Spinnaker Division
1st    Mojo – Kirstin Reblin
2nd  The Jackal – Amy Gojnich
3rd   Holly – Elyse Guevara-Rattray

See the race results here

Mojo and Holly

Ladies Non Spinnaker Division
1st   Trilogy – Eve Sheppard
2nd  Lively – Sophie Nelson
3rd   Genovefa – Genevieve Slattery

Sophie Nelson helming Lively  

Open Division
1st   Gail Force – Graeme Smith

Best Start    Coco – Kate McCann (.01)

See the race results here




The 2020/21 Tuesday Twilight series will commence on 10 November 2020. See you then!