Hardy Cup – 2nd to 6th February 2020

The Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron hosts one of Australia’s most prestigious match racing events, the Hardy Cup, as an Under 25 World Sailing Grade 3 International Event.

The Hardy Cup was donated by Sir James Hardy (Event Patron), an America’s Cup winner, World Champion, Olympic yachtsman, and prominent RSYS member to promote the match racing helming skills and tactical skills of young sailors.

The racing for the Hardy Cup will be held on the magnificent Sydney Harbour set with the backdrop of the world-famous Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.

The Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron is in an excellent position to provide immediate access to the Harbour and racing areas. Further to this fantastic location, RSYS intends to provide a Race Management and Umpire team of the highest order to give each team the best possible match racing conditions.

The event sailed in the Club’s fleet of Elliott 7s yachts, has received entries from across Australia and around the world. These include Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Sweden and USA.



2020 Regatta Documents and Links



Expression of Interest Form 2020 – Click Here

Notice of Race – 2020 – Click Here

Sailing Instructions – 2020 – Click Here

Sailing Instructions – Amendment 1 – Click Here

Official List of Skippers 2020 – Click Here                 

Practise Sessions – Sunday 2nd February 2020 – Click Here

Hardy Cup Live Results -2020 – Click Here      

Hardy Cup Facebook Page

2019 Hardy Cup Results

1st – Nick Egnot-Johnson, RNZYS (NZL)
2nd – Chris Weis, DRYC (USA)
3rd – James Hodgson, CYCA (AUS)

2019 Full Results

Previous Hardy Cup Winners

2018 – Clare Costanzo, RPAYC (AUS)
2017 – Ashlen Rooklyn, DBSC (AUS)
2016 – William Dargaville, RPAYC (AUS)
2015 – Jay Griffin, CYCA (AUS)
2014 – Jordan Reece, RSYS (AUS)
2013 – David Chapman, RSYS (AUS)
2012 – David Gilmour, RFBYC (AUS)
2011 – William Tiller, RNZYS (NZL)
2010 – Evan Walker, CYCA (AUS)
2009 – Adrian Short, RNZYS (NZL)
2008 – Evan Walker, CYCA (AUS)
2007 – Adam Minoprio, RNZYS (NZL)
2006 – Michael Dunstan, RSYS (AUS)
2005 – Michael Dunstan, RSYS (AUS)
2004 – Laurie Jury, RNZYS (NZL)
2002 – Michael Dunstan, RSYS (AUS)
2001 – M. Campbell-James, RYA (GBR)