Hardy Cup Match Racing Regatta underway

The eight competing teams for the 2022 Hardy Cup have taken to the water and are relishing their first international match racing regatta in two years.

On day one of the week-long event, under a bright sun and a building easterly breeze, the Elliott 7s, shadowed by umpire RIBs, are jockeying and dueling in a contest of wits and tactics.

Finn Tapper (CYCA)                                                              Jed Cruickshank (RSYS)

With good breeze all day, a full round robin was completed. Reigning Hardy Cup champion Finn Tapper of CYCA dropped only one race, to the Squadron’s Jed Cruickshank, to lead the table at the end of the day. Robbie McCutcheon (RNZYS ) and Jack Littlechild (CYCA) are equal having lost two matches apiece.

A special mention to Garth Bickford (RSYS) who has stepped into the Skipper’s role at the last minute, replacing Xavier McLachlan who has Covid. Bravo for winning a race on his first big match racing outing.




Skipper                                 Club           World Sailing Match Racing Ranking

Finn Tapper                        CYCA            32
Robbie McCutcheon    RNZYS         85
Jed Cruickshank             RSYS           109
Jack Littlechild                CYCA          216
Josh Hyde                          RNZYS       332
Max Paul                             RSYS           469
D’Arcy Kemp                    RPAYC     1357
Garth Bickford               RSYS            N/A

RSYS is fielding three teams:

Jed Cruickshank (skipper), Aiden Mansley, Harriet McLachlan, Emily Keg, Zac West
Max Paul (skipper), Ryan Littlechild, Jack Ferguson, Lauren Tandy, Brooke Wilson
Garth Bickford (skipper), Jade Gavin, Aiden Young, Jameson Prescott.

The RSYS teams with coach Nev Wittey OLY

Sir James Hardy OBE, our Event Patron, welcomed competitors at the opening function at the Squadron on Monday.

Meet the Umpires: Karyn Gojnich, Damian Boldyrew, Mike Allison, Robyn Tames, Erica Kirby, Simon Barrington, Drew Hulton-Smith

Sir James Hardy OBE with our ‘Red Shirt’ volunteers Richard Lawson, James Merrington and Glen Madsen


History of the Hardy Cup

The Squadron hosted the inaugural Hardy Cup regatta in 1983 and over its 38-year history, the event evolved into a World Sailing Grade 3 match racing regatta. The trophy was donated by Sir James Hardy OBE, who envisioned a regatta experience that could foster the critical and tactical sailing skills of young aspiring champions.

Previous Winners

2021 – Finn Tapper, CYCA (AUS)
2020 – Harry Price, CYCA (AUS)
2019 – Nick Egnot-Johnson, RNZYS (NZL)
2018 – Clare Costanzo, RPAYC (AUS)

Visit the regatta website here

Photos by Darcie Collington