And the winner is ……..Sydney

23 March 2013

Peter Campbell

Sydney, Ambitious, Tingari, Daydream, Alchemist, Sidewinder and Miss Pibb will go down in the records as winners of the Main Series pointscores for the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron’s 150th season of summer racing on Sydney Harbour. Each of the yachts clinched victory on Saturday, the final day of club racing for 2012-2013, with the international one-design classes ending the series with a mini-regatta.

The victory of Cheryn Croker’s Daydream is the first time in recent Squadron history that an all-women crew has won a Main Series division trophy, although several women skipper their yachts and many crew in the fleet. Another woman winner on Saturday was former Olympian Karyn Gojnich who sailed Evie to three straight wins in the International Yngling class mini regatta.

Sydney, the 60-footer owned by Australia Day Regatta president Charles Curran and sailed by a dedicated crew of the Squadron members, had an easier than expected victory in Division 1 when her closest rival, Ian MacDiarmid’s Hell Razor retired after finishing. Sydney took line honours but placed only seventh on corrected time, but ended the Main Series a comfortable 6.23 points clear of Hell Razor, third place overall going to Graeme Lambert’s Impetuous Too. Sydney also won the IRC season pointscore.

Division 3 went to another Australia Day Regatta official, organising committee chairman John Jeremy sailing his East Coast 31, Tingari, to a 7 point win from Mingara III (Philip Crane) with Zeus II (Jim Dunstan) just one point astern in third place.

Although David Matthews’ Ambitious won only two races during the season, consistency was the keynote of her success in Division 2, finishing with a net 74 points, comfortably ahead of Arcturus II (Peter Davenport) on 81.96 points and Jessica Rabbit (Bruce Millar) on 82 points.

Division 4 provided the closest contest of the season. Stafford White’s Folkboat Beowulf and Cheryn Croker’s Daydream went into Saturday’s final race equal on points. After the race they were still equal on points after five drop races and a countback Daydream took the title with eight wins over the season to six by Beowulf. A close third overall was Solay (David Smith).

The Main Series winners in the three one-design classes had already been decided going into Saturday’s three-race mini regatta and placings remained unchanged at the end of the day. Alchemist (Richard Hammond and Roger Gain) won the International Etchells from Umami (Matt Whittnall and Ant Elliott) and Ciao (Doug McGain).

Sidewinder (Carl Ryves) won the International Dragon Main Series from Liquidity (Richard Franklin) and Riga (Margin Burke) while in the International Yngling class Miss Pibb (Hamish Jarrett and Max Hayman) won the Main Series from Black Adder (Gary Pearce) and Shining Star (Chris Harper).

Saturday’s Autumn One Design Regatta also comprised the Port Jackson championship and Etchells Eaton Cup for the International Etchells class. The Etchells produced a three classic one-design races, with top performer of the day being world champion boat Iron Lotus (David Edwards, Ivan Wheen and Tom King). Iron Lotus notched up two firsts and a seventh while Doug McGain’s Ciao had a 10-2-2 score, Dot (David Seaton) 2-11-3 and Magpie (Steve Jarvin and Graeme Taylor) a 6-1-9 score in the 23 boat fleet.

Of the Main Series winners, Sidewinder was the only boat to finish top boat in the final mini regatta, taking out the Dragons with two wins and a fourth place, while Liquidity had a 1-3-2 scorecard and Indulgence a 3-2-4 result.

Karyn Gojnich sailed Evie to three straight wins in the International Yngling class. Miss Pibb had three seconds while Karma (Gary Wogas) had a 4-4-3 scorecard.

M: 0419 385 028