Renovating Maluka of Kermandie

RSYS Member Sean Langman addressed the Cruising Division on 25 January telling the enthralling story of Maluka. Originally built from a single cedar tree, Sean lovingly restored her using much of the original wood. He then modified her to rate for IRC and to meet Cat 1 requirements in order to participate in the Sydney Hobart.

Read the full report here

Australia Day Regatta

On 26 January 68 boats and their crews flocked to Sydney Harbour to compete in the 2017 Australia Day Harbour Regatta. The regatta accommodated eight different divisions with a few additions to the standard Saturday racing, being Classics divisions 1 and 2 and the Historical skiffs. RSYS sailors acquitted themselves well, often finishing in the top three in most divisions.

The weather and conditions for the day saw a gradual increase from light wind strength in the morning to medium wind strength in the afternoon coming from the south. The consistent strength and direction of the breeze enabled a great day of racing on the Harbour for all involved. Although sailors might have appreciated slightly warmer temperatures compared to the low 20s and broken clouds which lingered around the Harbour most of the day.

Overall it was a very successful day; congratulations to all winners. What a way to spend Australia Day! Make sure you get involved next year.


Classic Non Spinnaker Division 1

  1. Vittoria – Alan Reece – RSYS
  2. Sjo Ro – Jeremy Arnott – BSC                                   
  3. Mister Christian – David Salter – SASC

Classic Non Spinnaker Division 2

  1. Yeromais V – John Diacopoulos – RSYS
  2. Tio Hia – James Bevis – SASC
  3. Vanity – John Crawford – SASC      

Division 1 Non Spinnaker

  1. Nocturne – Gerard Kesby – RANSA
  2. As You Do – Ross Littlewood – RSYS
  3. Scarlett O’Hara – Rob Skol – RANSA

Division 1 Spinnaker

  1. The Goat – Bruce Foye – CYCA
  2. Josephine – Nicholas Rowe – SASC
  3. Defiance – Nicole Shrimpton – RSYS

Division 2 Non Spinnaker

  1. Britannia – Glen Ilic – SAILBLTY
  2. Star Ferry – John Conroy – RSYS
  3. Tenspeed – Adam Baggett – DSC

Division 2 Spinnaker

  1. Balmain Tiger – Brian Wood – BSC
  2. Matagi – Simon Oliver – BSC
  3. Wildling II – Conrad Johnston – BSC

Division 3 Spinnaker

  1. Loose Change – Michael Bleakley – BSC
  2. Gingerbread Man – Douglas Russel – BSC
  3. Miss Pibb – Hamish Jarrett / Max Hayman – RSYS

Historical Skiffs

  1. Australia IV – David Swales – SFS
  2. The Mistake – Terry Stewart – SFS
  3. Britannia – Ian Smith - SFS

View full results here 

By Angus Olding

Photos by Rene Chapman

Tuesday Twilight prize giving

Tuesday racing recommences 7 February and concludes 14 March, followed by a prize giving dinner in the CCA.

Our generous sponsor Paspaley will present eight Australian South Sea pearl pendants and award one lucky crew an exclusive Pearl Discovery experience which includes a visit to the Pearl Room located in the heritage bank vaults that lie beneath their flagship boutique in Martin Place.

Four pendants will be awarded to overall winners and the rest to four boats drawn on the night. To be eligible for the draw, boats must have sailed 75% or more of the series.

Bring your crew, family and friends to this enjoyable dinner event!

RSVP online here

Last year's happy winners:


Etchells Milson Silver Goblets return to Sydney Harbour 

The Sydney Etchells fleet is once again looking forward to hosting one of the marquee events on the annual Australian Etchells racing calendar from 31 January to 4 February. On offer will be the historic Milson Silver Goblets.

Hosted by RSYS, the event uniquely combines mid-week twilight start times with a three race programme on Saturday for a total race programme of six races that make the most of exceptional summer sailing conditions on Sydney Harbour, particularly on weekdays with Harbour traffic at a minimum. 

Last year’s regatta was won by 2000 Olympic Gold Medallist and 2012 Etchells World Champion, Tom King

'This year’s regatta is shaping up as one of the best in the events history. With the Australian Championship having just concluded, the leading contenders are all in top form,' said Sydney Etchells Fleet Captain Mike Tyquin.

More than 30 entries are expected with the typical high standard of racing that the Etchells class provides, especially in the Sydney Fleet. The regatta will conclude with a prize giving dinner on Saturday evening after racing.

Entries are open and the Notice of Race and Entry Forms are available via the RSYS website here 
For more information, please contact the Fleet Captain Mike Tyquin or call 0422 381 151.

Saturday 21 January results

Saturday saw more refreshing temperatures on the Harbour compared to the night before for the Friday twilight. With temperatures in the low 20s and light to medium Southerly winds, racers could not complain with what was served. It was a relatively packed day of racing with race 17 of the Saturday series and races 19-21 of the MINI A regattas. Competition in both series is heating up with a solid aggregate of boats and crews competing for the win in their respective divisions and classes.

Coming up this weekend is another day of racing in the Saturday summer series in which there is the first Etchells world qualifiers. Along with the MINI B regatta where races 10-12 of the King Haakon Cup for the Ynglings will take place.


Podium Results- 20 January

Division 1

  1. Much Ado V – John & Michael Stephen 
  2. Impetuous Too – Graeme Lambert
  3. I Super – Peter Campbell   

Division 2

  1. Agent 88 – Stephen Ellis
  2. Soundtrack – John Amos
  3. Senta – Julie & Terry Clarke

Division 3

  1. Lunacy – Tom Moult
  2. Zeus II – Jim Dunstan
  3. Kirsten II – Ken Chase / John Bowman


  1. Troika – Callum Thompson & Adam Tran
  2. Yertle – Jan Newland / Warrick Back




  1. Wobbegong – Doug Flynn – 9 pts
  2. Top 40 – Bonouvrie / Merrington – 9 pts
  3. Yandoo XX – Jeanne-Claude Strong – 11 pts



  1. Whimsical – Gordon Ingate – 5 pts
  2. Ascalon – Jim Hawkins & Andrew Howe – 6 pts
  3. Liquidity – Richard Franklin – 7 pts


View full resuts here


By Angus Olding